Coverart for item
The Resource A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000, ed. by Katrin Kohl and Ritchie Robertson

A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000, ed. by Katrin Kohl and Ritchie Robertson

Label
A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000
Title
A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000
Statement of responsibility
ed. by Katrin Kohl and Ritchie Robertson
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries, ghetto fiction played an important part in the articulation of a particularly German-Jewish quest for identity. The volume presents some 15 articles by scholars from Scandinavia, Germany, Great Britain, and Ireland, and offers new analyses of ghetto writing by well-known authors such as Heinrich Heine and Joseph Roth, and completely new material on forgotten ghetto writers who deserve to be rediscovered. The articles cover various types of ghetto writing, ranging from ghetto fiction in the tradition of Leopold Kompert and Karl Emil Franzos to diaries, travelogues, autobiography, and even contemporary German hiphop and rap lyrics."--BOOK JACKET
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
830.9/94360904
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
PT3818
LC item number
.H57 2006
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Kohl, Katrin M.
  • Robertson, Ritchie
Series statement
Studies in German literature, linguistics, and culture
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Austrian literature
  • Politics and literature
  • Popular culture
  • Publishers and publishing
Label
A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000, ed. by Katrin Kohl and Ritchie Robertson
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [291]-307) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Drama in Austria, 1918-45 /Judith Beniston -- Austrian prose fiction, 1918-45 / Ritchie Robertson -- Publishers and institutions in Austria, 1918-45 / Murray G. Hall -- Popular culture in Austria: cabaret and film, 1918-45 / Janet Stewart -- The politics of Austrian literature, 1927-56 / Andrew Barker -- Austrian poetry, 1918-2000 / Katrin Kohl -- Writing in Austria after 1945: the political, institutional, and publishing context / Anthony Bushell -- Austrian responses to National Socialism and the Holocaust / Dagmar C.G. Lorenz -- Drama in Austria, 1945-2000 / Juliane Vogel -- Austrian prose fiction, 1945-2000 / J.J. Long -- Popular culture in Austria, 1945-2000 / Joseph McVeigh -- Shifting boundaries: responses to multiculturalism at the turn of the twenty-first century / Allyson Fiddler
Control code
67392862
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781571132765
Lccn
2006013223
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781571132765
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
A history of Austrian literature 1918-2000, ed. by Katrin Kohl and Ritchie Robertson
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [291]-307) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Drama in Austria, 1918-45 /Judith Beniston -- Austrian prose fiction, 1918-45 / Ritchie Robertson -- Publishers and institutions in Austria, 1918-45 / Murray G. Hall -- Popular culture in Austria: cabaret and film, 1918-45 / Janet Stewart -- The politics of Austrian literature, 1927-56 / Andrew Barker -- Austrian poetry, 1918-2000 / Katrin Kohl -- Writing in Austria after 1945: the political, institutional, and publishing context / Anthony Bushell -- Austrian responses to National Socialism and the Holocaust / Dagmar C.G. Lorenz -- Drama in Austria, 1945-2000 / Juliane Vogel -- Austrian prose fiction, 1945-2000 / J.J. Long -- Popular culture in Austria, 1945-2000 / Joseph McVeigh -- Shifting boundaries: responses to multiculturalism at the turn of the twenty-first century / Allyson Fiddler
Control code
67392862
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781571132765
Lccn
2006013223
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781571132765
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...