Coverart for item
The Resource Crazy Mountains : learning from wilderness to weigh technology, David Strong

Crazy Mountains : learning from wilderness to weigh technology, David Strong

Label
Crazy Mountains : learning from wilderness to weigh technology
Title
Crazy Mountains
Title remainder
learning from wilderness to weigh technology
Statement of responsibility
David Strong
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
Written in the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It with philosophical clarity and literary power, this book opens with a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains of Montana, an island of high, craggy peaks, forest, meadows, and rushing streams, surrounded by the sweep of the high plains. A newly-bulldozed road and a planned timber sale jeopardize the wild character of the range and trigger the wide-ranging reflections of this remarkable book. This book presents a comprehensive vision of the challenge wilderness offers to our contemporary culture
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1955-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Strong, David
Government publication
government publication of a state province territory dependency etc
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
T14.5
LC item number
.S8 1995
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Series statement
SUNY series in environmental public policy
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Technology
  • Technology
  • Environmental degradation
Label
Crazy Mountains : learning from wilderness to weigh technology, David Strong
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 217-243) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Ch. 1. The Crazy Mountains -- Ch. 2. The Danger to the Crazy Mountains -- Ch. 3. The Environmentalist's Reply -- Ch. 4. The Other Story -- Ch. 5. The Technological Subversion of Environmental Ethics -- Ch. 6. Granting the Thing its Eloquence -- Ch. 7. To Listen Again -- Ch. 8. To Consider Things Again -- Ch. 9. To Experience Things Again -- Ch. 10. To Experience Wilderness -- Ch. 11. To Speak Again -- Ch. 12. To Build Again
Control code
31435628
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
x, 253 pages
Isbn
9780791426524
Lccn
94023807
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color)
Label
Crazy Mountains : learning from wilderness to weigh technology, David Strong
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 217-243) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Ch. 1. The Crazy Mountains -- Ch. 2. The Danger to the Crazy Mountains -- Ch. 3. The Environmentalist's Reply -- Ch. 4. The Other Story -- Ch. 5. The Technological Subversion of Environmental Ethics -- Ch. 6. Granting the Thing its Eloquence -- Ch. 7. To Listen Again -- Ch. 8. To Consider Things Again -- Ch. 9. To Experience Things Again -- Ch. 10. To Experience Wilderness -- Ch. 11. To Speak Again -- Ch. 12. To Build Again
Control code
31435628
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
x, 253 pages
Isbn
9780791426524
Lccn
94023807
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color)

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...