Coverart for item
The Resource Ethics as social science : the moral philosophy of social cooperation, Leland B. Yeager

Ethics as social science : the moral philosophy of social cooperation, Leland B. Yeager

Label
Ethics as social science : the moral philosophy of social cooperation
Title
Ethics as social science
Title remainder
the moral philosophy of social cooperation
Statement of responsibility
Leland B. Yeager
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "With this new book, esteemed economist Leland B. Yeager grounds moral and political philosophy in the requirements of a well-functioning society, one whose members reap the gains from peaceful cooperation while pursuing their own diverse goals."
  • "The book explores the reasons an individual may have for helping to uphold such a society rather than seeking a free ride on the moral behavior of others. A work in the tradition of Hume, Smith, Mill, von Mises, Hayek and Hazlitt, it expounds a rules or indirect version of utilitarianism. It reviews criticisms of utilitarianism in detail, as well as alternative grounds of ethics including contractarianism, rights-based doctrines, and appeals to specific intuitions. Yeager brings the insights of economics to bear on a field usually dominated by philosophers and theologians. Ethics come across as a subject amply open to the findings of economics and the other social and natural sciences."
  • "Economists, philosophers and other students and scholars of the social sciences will welcome this book. It will also appeal to any reader interested in exploring the ideas of ethics."--Jacket
  • "With this new book, esteemed economist Leland B. Yeager grounds moral and political philosophy in the requirements of a well-functioning society, one whose members reap the gains from peaceful cooperation while pursuing their own diverse goals." "The book explores the reasons an individual may have for helping to uphold such a society rather than seeking a free ride on the moral behavior of others. A work in the tradition of Hume, Smith, Mill, von Mises, Hayek and Hazlitt, it expounds a rules or indirect version of utilitarianism. It reviews criticisms of utilitarianism in detail, as well as alternative grounds of ethics including contractarianism, rights-based doctrines, and appeals to specific intuitions. Yeager brings the insights of economics to bear on a field usually dominated by philosophers and theologians. Ethics come across as a subject amply open to the findings of economics and the other social and natural sciences." "Economists, philosophers and other students and scholars of the social sciences will welcome this book. It will also appeal to any reader interested in exploring the ideas of ethics."--BOOK JACKET
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Yeager, Leland B
Dewey number
171/.5
Index
index present
LC call number
HB72
LC item number
.Y43 2001
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Series statement
New thinking in political economy
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Economics
  • Utilitarianism
Label
Ethics as social science : the moral philosophy of social cooperation, Leland B. Yeager
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 301-324) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Is utilitarianism immoral?
  • Altruism and self-interest
  • Duty and universalizability
  • Rivals of utilitarianism
  • Law, government, and policy
  • Appendix to Chapter 11: Libertarianism and classical liberalism
  • Utilitarianism after all
  • Ethics and economics
  • Some fundamentals
  • Appendix to Chapter 2: Free will and ethics
  • Origins of ethics
  • The case for indirect utilitarianism
  • What counts as utility?
  • The alleged problem of aggregation
  • Appendix to Chapter 6: Historical reflections on the issue of aggregation
Control code
44174295
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
viii, 334 pages
Isbn
9781840645217
Lccn
00042968
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Label
Ethics as social science : the moral philosophy of social cooperation, Leland B. Yeager
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 301-324) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Is utilitarianism immoral?
  • Altruism and self-interest
  • Duty and universalizability
  • Rivals of utilitarianism
  • Law, government, and policy
  • Appendix to Chapter 11: Libertarianism and classical liberalism
  • Utilitarianism after all
  • Ethics and economics
  • Some fundamentals
  • Appendix to Chapter 2: Free will and ethics
  • Origins of ethics
  • The case for indirect utilitarianism
  • What counts as utility?
  • The alleged problem of aggregation
  • Appendix to Chapter 6: Historical reflections on the issue of aggregation
Control code
44174295
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
viii, 334 pages
Isbn
9781840645217
Lccn
00042968
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...