Coverart for item
The Resource The delicate distress, Elizabeth Griffith ; edited by Cynthia Booth Ricciardi and Susan Staves

The delicate distress, Elizabeth Griffith ; edited by Cynthia Booth Ricciardi and Susan Staves

Label
The delicate distress
Title
The delicate distress
Statement of responsibility
Elizabeth Griffith ; edited by Cynthia Booth Ricciardi and Susan Staves
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • The Delicate Distress (1769) focuses on the problems women encounter after marriage - the issue of financial independence for wives, the consequences of interfaith relationships, and the promiscuity of their husbands. At the story's center is the deep distress of Emily Woodville, a virtuous young newlywed who suspects her husband of infidelity with a French marchioness from his past
  • Against a backdrop of rural England and Paris of the ancien regime, Elizabeth Griffith takes the epistolary novel of sensibility in the tradition of Samuel Richardson and Jean-Jacques Rousseau and re-imagines it from a feminist perspective that centers on strong, intelligent, and virtuous women. Two sisters exchange letters about urgent ethical questions concerning love, marriage, morality, art, the duties of wives and husbands, and passion versus reason, while two men correspond about the same subjects. The Delicate Distress is one of the earliest novels to explore the psychology of characters who observe and reflect but engage in no grand public actions
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1727-1793
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Griffith, Elizabeth
Dewey number
813/.1
Government publication
government publication of a state province territory dependency etc
Illustrations
music
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR3505.G43
LC item number
D45 1997
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
  • 1959-
  • 1942-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Ricciardi, Cynthia Booth
  • Staves, Susan
Series statement
Eighteenth-century novels by women
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wives
  • Marriage
Label
The delicate distress, Elizabeth Griffith ; edited by Cynthia Booth Ricciardi and Susan Staves
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [266]-267)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
36074458
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xxxiii, 267 pages
Isbn
9780813109251
Isbn Type
(pbk. : alk. paper)
Lccn
96050890
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
music
Label
The delicate distress, Elizabeth Griffith ; edited by Cynthia Booth Ricciardi and Susan Staves
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [266]-267)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
36074458
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xxxiii, 267 pages
Isbn
9780813109251
Isbn Type
(pbk. : alk. paper)
Lccn
96050890
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
music

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...