Coverart for item
The Resource The dispossessed state : narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland, Sara L. Maurer

The dispossessed state : narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland, Sara L. Maurer

Label
The dispossessed state : narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland
Title
The dispossessed state
Title remainder
narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland
Statement of responsibility
Sara L. Maurer
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Do indigenous peoples have an unassailable right to the land they have worked and lived on, or are those rights conferred and protected only when a powerful political authority exists? In the tradition of John Locke and Thomas Hobbes, who vigorously debated the thorny concept of property rights, Sara L. Maurer here looks at the question as it applied to British ideas about Irish nationalism in the nineteenth century. This book connects the Victorian novel's preoccupation with the landed estate to nineteenth-century debates about property, specifically as it played out in the English occupation of Ireland. Victorian writers were interested in the question of whether the Irish had rights to their land that could neither be bestowed nor taken away by England. In analyzing how these ideas were represented through a century of British and Irish fiction, journalism, and political theory, Maurer recovers the broad influence of Irish culture on the rest of the British isles. By focusing on the ownership of land, The Dispossessed State challenges current scholarly tendencies to talk about Victorian property solely as a commodity. Maurer brings together canonical British novelists - Maria Edgeworth, Anthony Trollope, George Moore, and George Meredith - with the writings of major British political theorists - John Stuart Mill, Henry Sumner Maine, and William Gladstone - to illustrate Ireland's central role in the literary imagination of Britain in the nineteenth century. The book addresses three key questions in Victorian studies - property, the state, and national identity - and will interest scholars of the period as well as those in Irish studies, postcolonial theory, and gender studies."--Project Muse
Cataloging source
SFB
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Maurer, Sara L
Dewey number
823/.809
Index
index present
LC call number
PR878.P728
LC item number
D57 2012eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Land tenure
  • Land tenure
  • Property in literature
  • English fiction
  • English fiction
  • LITERARY CRITICISM
  • English fiction
  • English fiction
  • Land tenure
  • Property in literature
  • Great Britain
  • Ireland
Label
The dispossessed state : narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland, Sara L. Maurer
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
not applicable
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Disowning to own: Maria Edgeworth's Irish fiction and the illegitimacy of national ownership -- The forebearance of the state: John Stuart Mill and the promise of Irish property -- English property, Irish ownership and the British state -- The wife of state: Ireland and England's vicarious enjoyment in Anthony Trollope's Palliser novels -- At home in the public domain: George Moore's drama in muslin, George Meredith's Diana of the crossways and the intellectual property of union
Control code
793012724
Extent
1 online resource (264 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781421404509
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
not applicable
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)793012724
Label
The dispossessed state : narratives of ownership in nineteenth-century Britain and Ireland, Sara L. Maurer
Publication
Antecedent source
not applicable
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Disowning to own: Maria Edgeworth's Irish fiction and the illegitimacy of national ownership -- The forebearance of the state: John Stuart Mill and the promise of Irish property -- English property, Irish ownership and the British state -- The wife of state: Ireland and England's vicarious enjoyment in Anthony Trollope's Palliser novels -- At home in the public domain: George Moore's drama in muslin, George Meredith's Diana of the crossways and the intellectual property of union
Control code
793012724
Extent
1 online resource (264 pages)
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781421404509
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
not applicable
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)793012724

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...