Coverart for item
The Resource The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus : the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom, by Christian H. Bull

The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus : the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom, by Christian H. Bull

Label
The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus : the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom
Title
The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus
Title remainder
the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom
Statement of responsibility
by Christian H. Bull
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Hermes Trismegistus, Christian H. Bull argues that the treatises attributed to Hermes Trismegistus reflect the spiritual exercises and ritual practices of loosely organized brotherhoods in Egypt. These small groups were directed by Egyptian priests educated in the traditional lore of the temples, but also conversant with Greek philosophy. Such priests, who were increasingly dispossessed with the gradual demise of the Egyptian temples, could find eager adherents among a Greek-speaking audience seeking for the wisdom of the Egyptian Hermes, who was widely considered to be an important source for the philosophies of Pythagoras and Plato. The volume contains a comprehensive analysis of the myths of Hermes Trismegistus, a reevaluation of the Way of Hermes, and a contextualization of this ritual tradition
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bull, Christian H
Dewey number
135/.45
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
  • BF1598.H6
  • BL805
LC item number
  • T73 2018
  • .E85 v.186
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Series statement
Religions in the Graeco-Roman world,
Series volume
volume 186
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hermes
  • Brotherhoods
  • Hermes
Label
The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus : the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom, by Christian H. Bull
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 461-514) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1028823821
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
xvi, 532 pages
Isbn
9789004370814
Lccn
2018020692
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustration (some color)
System control number
(OCoLC)1028823821
Label
The tradition of Hermes Trismegistus : the Egyptian priestly figure as a teacher of Hellenized wisdom, by Christian H. Bull
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 461-514) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1028823821
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
xvi, 532 pages
Isbn
9789004370814
Lccn
2018020692
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustration (some color)
System control number
(OCoLC)1028823821

Library Locations

    • Ellis LibraryBorrow it
      1020 Lowry Street, Columbia, MO, 65201, US
      38.944491 -92.326012
Processing Feedback ...